The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum  
  • Serial Numbers Database 2.0
Enter Here

vBClassified Featured Listings
Echoes of War

Go Back   The Soviet Military Awards Page Forum > Soviet Awards Forums > General And Slightly Off Topic Talk > General Talk Archive

Old 09-12-2003, 10:56 AM   #1
DougD

Collecting v. History

Just curious ( have a break here at work); did you get into Soviet collecting ( medals, orders, uniforms, etc.) and then get into Soviet history, or were you into Soviet / Russian history first, and then get into collecting 'evil empire' items?

DD
Sponsored Links
Old 09-12-2003, 01:01 PM   #2
ericlida

Reason for collecting?

I came from former Soviet Union to the US 14 years ago. I lived in the USSR for most of my life (37 years). The history of this country is a part of my life. I studied it at the school. I lived there and was a part of this country and life. For me collecting Soviet medal, orders and badges it’s a reminder of my previous life, learning more about this country (the information I was getting in 70-80th was different).

Eric
Old 09-12-2003, 01:44 PM   #3
Mozzabloke

Good Thread

hmm..... which came first the chicken or the egg?

I have always been interested in WW1 & WW2. But I think I was hooked onto medals when I got My Great Grandads WW1 medals (he died in the somme). One day I was looking around ebay and the Soviet awards grabbed my eye and I havent looked back since. I didnt realise at the time but Soviet ww2 orders are the only researchable orders from that period...bonus!

Collecting Soviet awards has definately made me study ww2 even more particularly the Eastern front.

Curious to hear everyone elses comments.

Mark
Old 09-12-2003, 01:56 PM   #4
Stephende

I was a grade school cold warrior